Tsurukoku is divided into seven kuni, or “countries,” which were initially administrative units in the time of the Mikado, but now serve simply as geographical regions. The regions, from west to east, are:


The lands “West of the Checkpoints” were originally defined as all those west of the ancient capital of Aono-kyō. This region meets the Great Sea on the west, and is home to the port city of Kanba.

  • Itō – the capital of Tsurukoku under the Itō shogunate. Home to 200,000 people and over 1,000 shrines.
  • Kanba – this port city sits at the mouth of the Nagara River. It is controlled by the Itō clan, which allows the Shogun to tax all boat traffic entering or exiting Tsurukoku.
  • Okano


The “Road through the Central Mountains” is home to the ancient capital of Aono-kyō. The Iwayama mountain range cuts through the northern half of this region.

  • Aono-kyō – the Imperial capital is still home to the Mikado and the Imperial court. Aono-kyō is the center of the fine arts in the Land of the Crane.
  • Kobayashi – the capital of Tsurukoku under the first shogunate, Kobayashi is still a thriving city, home to 50,000.


Named for the Iwayama mountain range, which dominates its northern half, this region is also home to some of the most fertile farmland in Tsurukoku. The southern third of the region is entirely flat plains.

  • Tanaka


This region is named for the largest forest in Tsurukoku, which falls almost entirely within its borders. The forest is comprised primarily of mulberry trees, which are used for two purposes. First, the silkworms that eat the mulberry leaves are harvested to make silk. Second, the bark of the trees is harvested to make paper.

  • Morimoto
  • Suzuki
  • Fujiwara


The “Birthplace of Iron” is extremely mountainous, since it contains the tail end of the Tsuchitora range and the eastern end of the Iwayama range. As is implied by its name, the iron and jade mines in this region are the most prolific in the empire.

  • Nakamura – located near the western border of Nakamura lands, their capital city is opulent, with jade nearly omnipresent.
  • Nakanaori – home of a jade mine and an underground river considered sacred by Shintō practitioners. The Nakanaori waterfall, where the underground river emerges from the earth, is the site of a major Shintō shrine.
  • Yamamoto


The “River’s Tail” covers most of the southern portion of Tsuchitora. Here, the Nagara River begins its journey west. The region is famous for its hot springs, glacial water, and sake production.

  • Kurosawa
  • Takayama and Tsumago – For ten generations, the twin towns of Takayama and Tsumago, controlled by Kurosawa, have produced the finest sake in Tsurukokus. Samurai and shinkan, noble and peasant, human and kitsune alike have coveted the amakuchi, or sweet sake, of Takayama and the karakuchi, or dry sake, of Tsumago.
  • Mizukoshi — this mining town is a small settlement near the eastern border of Watanabe lands. It manages to get captured by the Nakamura nearly every time they invade.
  • Watanabe – the capital of Watanabe han originated as a trading post along the Shiratama river. Because of Nakamura’s constant incursions, it’s extremely well fortified.


The “East Mountain Road” is the easternmost region of the empire, and is home to the northernmost section of the Tsuchitora mountain range and the entirety of the Hizuru range.

  • Izawa – A large mining town and foundry, famous for producing temple bells.
  • Takahashi
  • Umeda